We have an obligation and a responsibility to be investing in our students and our schools. We must make sure that people who have the grades, the desire and the will, but not the money, can still get the best education possible.
— Barack Obama, 44th President of the United States of America


Each year, the Contra Costa Alumnae Chapter of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Incorporated awards scholarships to graduating high school students, residing in Contra Costa County who have demonstrated a significant level of academic success, social awareness and community involvement. Our goal is to provide financial assistance to young, college-bound African American students in their quest towards continuing their education at the post-secondary level.

Our scholarship program is funded through various community service projects and fundraising activities, which allows Contra Costa Alumnae Chapter to offer qualified recipients with a scholarship up to $1,000 upon acceptance as a full-time student to an accredited four-year college/university.

The Scholarship Committee, comprised of members of our organization, evaluates each candidate based on academic achievement, community service, a written essay and letters of recommendation. Applicants are encouraged to express their personal experiences that have shaped their lives and future educational or career goals.

The eligibility requirements for the Contra Costa Alumnae Chapter Scholarship are:

  • The applicant must be an African-American high school senior, graduating from a high school in Contra Costa County in the Class of 2020

  • The applicant must have a minimum 3.0 GPA

  • The applicant must plan to attend a four-year college/university, beginning Fall 2020

  • The applicant must be a United States citizen

Since 1990, we have awarded over $72,000 in scholarships because we celebrate illustrated excellence!


Congratulations To Our 2019 Scholarship Recipients!

Adesuwa Aigbuza – University of the Pacific

Olivia Blades – Sonoma State University

Zariyah Brown – University of Alabama

Kaylyn Goode – Howard University

Mykayla Grant – Tuskegee University

Nicholas Graves – Occidental College

Jordan White – Prairie View A&M

James Williams III – Arizona State

Claryssa Wilson – San Diego State University